Sesame Peanut Noodles and BLU Goes to Nationals!

I wrote this while in Ohio at nationals, but haven’t gotten a chance to post till now, since we had no internet there and I’ve been busy catching up on things all week. It was nice to re-read this and remember how exciting the whole experience was. But anyway, here’s my nationals recap of day 1!

Day 1 of Nationals:

It’s hard to believe I’m actually here in Ohio right now, playing in the USA Ultimate College Nationals. We had a fun day of ultimate today, and people at home had classes, whattt? I’m still in disbelief that I get this awesome opportunity to be here, and there’s nowhere I’d rather be than right here with wonderful team, playing the sport we all love. It’s been an awesome experience so far, and this is only day one! We had a huge win over Whitman today, and our whole team is super stoked about it! Beating Whitman means we broke seed in our pool, so we get to advance to games to go to the finals! Yeeeaaahhhh BLU! Tomorrow we’ll start by playing Cornell, then we’ll play University of Washington after that. Our team is getting pumped and getting ready to make some upsets!

Anyway, I’m just letting out my excitement about Nationals, but onto the food! Since the weather in LA has been super hot recently, I didn’t want to turn on the oven, and I’ve been trying to make cold meals. I tried these sesame peanut noodles, and it really hit the spot! I had the stove on for probably about 20 minutes, and this meal came together very quickly, and was perfect for a hot weather meal. I had leftovers for the rest of the week for lunch, which was great with the continued hot weather. You can adjust the vegetables you put in these noodles to your taste, which makes this dish versatile. Some suggestions would be cabbage, celery, cucumbers, and more! You can also add some chopped peanuts for garnish. With summer just around the corner, go ahead and give these noodles a try!

Sesame Peanut Noodles

Adapted from Food Network

Ingredients

6 oz spaghetti (I used whole wheat)

1 head broccoli, chopped into florets

2 bell peppers, chopped

1 16 oz block firm tofu, cut into cubes or rectangles

3 green onions, sliced

Sauce

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1 tbsp sesame oil

3 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp ginger powder

1 tbsp honey

Directions

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside to cool.

Steam the broccoli for 5-10 minutes, until tender (or leave it raw, if you don’t mind raw broccoli, that’s just not my thing).

Stir together ingredients for the sauce.

Toss together the pasta, steamed broccoli, tofu, and green onions. Pour the saw over and toss to combine. Serve chilled. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2913

Ready to sauce

DSCN2915

Sauced up and ready to eat!

DSCN2916

A light, refreshing pasta dish!

One thought on “Sesame Peanut Noodles and BLU Goes to Nationals!

  1. […] The recipe given to me by my parents calls for dark vinegar, which I can’t find in the grocery store here, so I used rice vinegar instead, and I used agave nectar instead of sugar, since I just thought it would mix together a little more smoothly, since agave nectar is in liquid form. However, this sauce is just as tasty! I’ve used a similar version of it in other dishes, like my sesame-peanut noodles. […]

Leave a Reply

