Curried Chickpea Salad

Here’s the second post I wrote at nationals, along with a great curry salad recipe!

Nationals Day 2 Recap: I just got back from College Ultimate D1 Nationals this past weekend, and it was like coming back from a mini vacation. It was a blast, five straight days playing and watching ultimate with the best team I could ask for. We came into the tournament seeded sixteenth and left tied for ninth, so we are stoked about that. I’m sad that the season is over, but I’m so glad that we got the opportunity to play at nationals together, and extend our season past regionals for a few weeks. I love this team so much, and I’m already looking forward to the 2015 season!

Anyway, onto the food. Last week we had a little heat wave in LA, so I was looking for cool foods to eat in the hot weather. There was a curry chicken salad they serve in the dining halls that I really enjoyed before I stopped eating chicken, so I looked around for something like it, but vegetarian. I decided to try this curried chickpea salad, and I’m so glad I did! Something interesting that I never would have thought of is using hummus to get the creamy texture of the curry salad. It worked wonderfully, just by adding curry powder to plain hummus, then adding some water to thin it out a bit. It was delicious, and I think I might just make curry hummus in the future to dip vegetables in. I love curry flavor, and the raisins add a little pop of sweetness to this salad, which is great. I also love the crisp crunch of all the fresh vegetables in this salad. This takes about 10 minutes to whip together, and doesn’t require turning on the stove or oven at all! This is a great summer recipe, which I will be making again this summer, maybe with some vegetable variations. Here’s the recipe!

Curried Chickpea Salad

Adapted from The Simple Veganista

Ingredients

1 15 oz can garbanzo beans, drained

1-1 1/2 cups carrots or baby carrots, sliced

4 green onions, sliced

2 bell peppers, chopped

1/2 cup raisins

6 oz hummus

3-4 tbsp water

juice of one lemon, about 2-3 tbsp

1 tbsp curry powder

Mixed greens

Directions

Thin the hummus by adding 3-4 tablespoons of water. Stir in the curry powder until completely combined. Toss together the garbanzo beans, carrots, green onions, bell peppers, and raisins. Add the curry sauce and toss to coat. Serve chilled over greens. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2952

This makes a great summer meal for those hot days when you don’t want to turn on the stove or oven

DSCN2955

DSCN2950

Look at all those delicious fresh veggies!

2 thoughts on “Curried Chickpea Salad

  1. glutenfreeveganduo says:

    This looks really good! I wonder if it would make a good candidate for lettuce wraps… 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  2. alifemoment says:

    Loved this, such an interesting salad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

