Butternut Squash Quinoa Burgers

It’s finals week! You know what that means… Lots of stress eating, and lots of study breaks (to stress eat, obviously). This was a recipe I made a few weeks ago at one of our Friendship Dinner nights. Unfortunately, two members of that group of people are no longer in LA, since they are off to bigger and better things, but the memories are still strong! This was a group effort dinner: I made the patties, someone brought burger buns, and the others brought all sorts of wonderful burger toppings and side dishes. The result? Probably the tastiest Friendship Dinner night we’ve ever had. We made some beautiful looking burgers, and had lots of sides, including roasted sweet peppers, corn on the cob, and a delicious watermelon picked out by my roommate!

Side note and fun fact: My roommates has never picked out a bad watermelon. I personally don’t like watermelon, but I tried this watermelon, and it was delicious. Her secrets are to get one that’s heavy for its size, sun-streaked, so a little yellow, and sounds hollow when knocked on. I still say I’m not a fan of watermelon, but if my roommate ever brings one home, I’ll be happy to try it.

Anyway, back to the burgers! I wanted to make some vegetarian patties, and I love butternut squash and quinoa, so I decided to put them together! I added some oats and eggs to hold the patties together, and some onions for a little extra flavor. I baked these patties in the oven, and they came out beautifully, holding together quite nicely. You could maybe add an extra egg to make them a little more stable, but they were fine as-is. I’m sure you could also pan-fry these, but when making a larger quantity, I find it easier to bake them, even though it takes longer. I enjoyed these patties in burger form, with buns and toppings, but also as a salad topping, placed over mixed greens with a balsamic vinegar dressing. Either way, these are delicious!

Butternut Squash Quinoa Burgers

Makes 12 patties

Ingredients

1 butternut squash

Olive oil

1/2 cup quinoa, uncooked

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 eggs

2 tbsp crushed garlic

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

Hamburger buns

Hamburger toppings (we had lettuce, avocados, mushrooms, and onions)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Cut the butternut squash into cubes, then toss with olive oil and bake until tender, about 20 minutes. Remove and set aside to cool slightly.

While the squash is baking, cook the quinoa according to package directions.

When the squash and quinoa are done, combine in a food processor with the onion, egs, garlic, and oats and process until a rough mixture forms. Form into patties (I made 12) and place on parchment lined baking sheets.

Lower the oven heat to 350˚F. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, flipping halfway through, until the outsides are dry. Serve on hamburger buns with toppings of your choice, or you can serve the patties over mixed greens in a salad form. Both ways are delicious! Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2900

You could eat this as a simple patty on a burger…

DSCN2901

…or load it up with toppings!

DSCN2904

Quinoa squash patty on a burger with lettuce, caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, avocado, and a side of roasted mini bell peppers. Yum!

DSCN2908

So tasty!

Leave a Reply

