Pasta with White Wine Mushroom Cream Sauce

FINALS ARE OVER!!!! As of this morning, I am officially done with my third year of college. What a crazy feeling. I still feel like I was a first year just yesterday, so it’s hard to believe that three years are already gone. That being said, this year has been an amazing year, definitely the best of my three at UCLA so far. I met some incredible new people, became closer to my teammates, and got to live with some of my best friends! I couldn’t have asked for a better year, and while I’m sad that it’s coming to an end, I’m looking forward to next year, and making the most of my last year of college. But for now, it’s time to celebrate being done with finals, starting with a great recipe!

I made this pasta for our last Friendship Dinner Night at UCLA ever, the week before we went to Nationals, so it’s been a while, but I still remember how delicious it was. It started off with me wanting to make a pasta with a mushroom cream sauce, similar to the sauce for my pasta with swiss chard and leeks, but then I thought, why not add a few other flavors? I started by adding mushrooms to the sauce, then put in a little white wine. The result? A wonderful, creamy pasta sauce with some exciting new flavors. The mushrooms and creamy wine sauce paired nicely with the diced tomatoes and peas, and the Parmesan sprinkled on top is just a nice finishing touch. Here’s the recipe!

Pasta with White Wine Mushroom Cream Sauce

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients

12 oz pasta of your choice (I used veggie penne)

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

1 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp crushed garlic

1 cup heavy cream

2 tbsp flour

1/4 cup white wine

2 tomatoes, diced

1 14oz can peas, or 2 cups frozen or fresh peas

Parmesan, for sprinkling

Directions

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

In a saucepan over medium heat, heat the olive oil. Add the garlic and mushrooms, and sauté until the mushrooms are softened and release their juices. Add the heavy cream and bring to a gentle simmer. Whisk in the flour and white wine and simmer for a couple more minutes. Add the diced tomates and peas, then add the pasta and toss to coat with sauce. Serve warm, sprinkled with Parmesan. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2934

The lovely sauce!

DSCN2935

This veggie pasta may be a different color, but as far as I can tell it tastes the same

DSCN2936

DSCN2938

DSCN2942

Toss it all together and garnish with Parmesan. Dinner is served!

 

Leave a Reply

