Quinoa Salad with Corn, Avocado, Green Beans and Lime Dressing

I love summer! Summer means no classes, just work, lots of free time, and summer produce! Fresh corn is so sweet and cheap during the summer (or if you grow it in your own backyard, it’s free!), and green beans are in season (also free if you can grow them). That’s one thing that I miss about being home for the summer: our backyard produce. Our peach tree just started producing deliciously sweet peaches, and we have humongous zucchini, but unfortunately, since I’m in LA all summer, I don’t get to benefit from our wonderful garden. However, I can still cook with summer ingredients! I put together this quinoa salad as a nice, filling, hot weather meal that I could bring to work for lunch. It can be served chilled or room temperature, so I’m not eating hot food in the middle of the day.

The bite of the green onions pairs well with the sweet corn and green beans, and the creamy avocado adds a nice texture to the mix with the crisp, juicy corn kernels and fluffy quinoa. I had a lime to use, and I’m getting a little bored with my traditional balsamic vinaigrette and my honey mustard vinaigrette, so I decided to spice things up a bit with this sweet citrus. I also had some vegetable broth to use up, so I used that to cook the quinoa instead of water, yielding a softer, more savory quinoa. Overall, this is one of my favorite quinoa salads I’ve made so far, right up there with my all time favorite quinoa salad with swiss chard and roasted sweet potatoes. This makes a great summer meal, and is both delicious and healthy! Here’s the recipe!

Quinoa Salad with Corn, Avocado, and Green Beans with Lime Dressing

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients

1.5 cups quinoa, uncooked

3 cups water or vegetable broth

1 tsp crushed garlic

1 tsp olive oil

12oz green beans, trimmed and snapped in half

2 ears fresh corn

2 avocados, cubed

3 green onions, sliced

Dressing

Juice of 1 lime (about 1 oz)

Dash of Dijon mustard

1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

Place the quinoa and water or vegetable broth (I had some to use up, so I used it, but water is just fine, it’ll just be a little less flavorful) and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until all liquid is absorbed, then fluff and set aside to cool.

While the quinoa is cooking, sauté the green beans with the garlic and olive oil over medium heat. Add a dash of water, cover, and allow to steam-cook until tender. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.

Break the ears of corn in half and place in a microwave-safe dish. Add about an inch of water to the dish, cover, and microwave for about 5 minutes, until the kernels are cooked. Allow to cool, then slice the kernels off the cob.

To make the dressing, combine all ingredients and whisk together or shake in a container.

To assemble the salad, toss all the ingredients together in a large bowl. Drizzle the dressing over the salad and toss to distribute. Serve room temperature or chilled. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN3109

Sorry for the yellow light, the sun went down as I let my vegetables and quinoa cool.

DSCN3110

DSCN3113

All those delicious flavors and textures came together into a beautiful bowl of quinoa salad 😀

 

Leave a Reply

