Blueberry Pie Bars

It’s summertime! That means summer fruits, and these bars from Averie Cooks highlight one of my favorites: blueberries! I love fresh, plump, juicy, sweet blueberries, and summer is the perfect time to enjoy them. These blueberry pie bars are better than blueberry pie, with a shortbread crust, gooey yogurt filling interspersed with plenty of plump blueberries, and more shortbread as a crumble topping! These bars are quite simple to make, but yield delicious results! If you love sweet pie crusts and gooey filling, then these bars are for you! I loved this crust, as it was tender but sweet, and doubled as a delicious, crispy crumble topping as well. The sweet blueberries combined with the yogurt keep these bars moist, and the blueberries release their juices after being baked, adding extra flavor and sweetness to the filling. I wouldn’t change anything about these bars in the future, except maybe doubling the batch!

I mostly followed the recipe, with a couple changes. I made the shortbread crust in the food processor, dumping all the ingredients in, then pulsing till a rough dough started to form. I also used 1/4 heaping cup non-fat Greek yogurt and 1/4 heaping cup low fat vanilla (not Greek) yogurt, since that’s all I had. I used fresh blueberries instead of frozen, but my baking time was still 60 minutes. I originally started with 45, but the bars still seemed too gooey after that, until I left them in for the full 60. I probably could have taken them out at 55, if I wanted a slightly less brown crust, but they were still nicely done after 60.

For the recipe, hop on over to Averie Cooks!

DSCN3255

DSCN3273

Yum! Look at those beautiful layers of crust, filling, and crumble topping!

DSCN3268

The perfect summertime dessert!

DSCN3264

One thought on “Blueberry Pie Bars

  1. […] it is amazing! Probably my favorite blueberry dessert I’ve made so far, although those Blueberry Pie Bars come in a close second. Also, this recipe uses no fancy ingredients, like cake flour or […]

Leave a Reply

