Banana Chai Smoothie

It is hot, hot, hot in LA. Why is it so hot? Nobody knows, it’s the middle of September and supposed to be fall right now. Too bad the weather doesn’t reflect it. Luckily I live near the coast, but I hear inland it’s even worse right now. Yuck. All I want to do is drink smoothies and eat ice cream all day. And not drip sweat while sitting in front of the computer. That would be nice. But we can’t all have what we want. We can, however, make chai banana smoothies and be a little bit happier!

I was inspired by my roommate to make a chai flavored banana smoothie. She made one once and it sounded amazing. I think she might have had chai latte mix, but I just use frozen bananas, Greek yogurt, milk, and spices. I made my life easier and mixed all the spices together to make chai spice, but individual ingredients are listed below. You can add honey or another sweetener if you like, but I find that it’s sweet enough from the bananas. You can also use fresh bananas and add ice to make it cold, it’s up to you and what you have available in the kitchen. I just bought a new blender, so I’ve enjoyed using it to make this smoothie several times in the last few weeks. It’s delicious, healthy, and most importantly, cold! Here’s the recipe, go blend one up for yourself!

Banana Chai Smoothie

Ingredients

1 banana, broken into chunks and frozen

1/3 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1/4-1/3 cup nonfat milk

1 tsp cardamom

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp cloves

Honey (optional, to taste)

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend until smooth. Add sweetener/more spices to taste. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN3626

Simple ingredients!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

DSCN3627

DSCN3628

Frozen banana goodness 🙂

Leave a Reply

