Pumpkin Sage Brown Rice Risotto

It’s officially fall! With my first pumpkin recipe post this year, say hello to pumpkin season! It was actually a little chilly this evening in LA, and I had to wear a sweater. GASP, I know, SoCal does indeed have seasons! Or a very mild form of them, in any case. Looks like this week will only be in the high 70s, rather than 80s and 90s, so I guess it’s time to call it fall. Anyway, the inspiration for this recipe came more from necessity than any kind of inspiration. I wanted to make a fall meal, and one of my friends left some sage in my fridge, and I had half a can of pumpkin leftover from a cake I made (it wasn’t good enough to merit posting, I’m sorry to say), and I feel like I’ve seen lots of pumpkin sage recipes on the internet, so it must be a good combination, right? Well, it is. I love the blend of savory pumpkin and bright, fresh sage flavors in this dish. I added some apples and raisins for sweetness, onion for flavor, and kidney beans for protein.

DSCN3909

All the ingredients!

I was pleasantly surprised that the risotto method of cooking the brown rice actually gave it a creamier texture. It wasn’t quite as creamy as normal arborio rice, but it was creamier than traditional brown rice, and it makes me feel like I’m eating a bit healthier. I also used the cheating way of cooking risotto, so it really wasn’t much work at all. Overall, I’m very pleased with this recipe, especially since it fits quite well into the fall season. It’s delicious fresh from the pot, and also made for a great week of lunches. Enjoy my first fall meal recipe!

Pumpkin Sage Brown Rice Risotto

Ingredients

2 tsp olive oil

1/2 a yellow onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup uncooked brown rice

1/2 cup white wine

1 quart (4 cups) vegetable broth

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 sweet apples (I used gala), diced

1/2 cup raisins

1 15oz can kidney beans, drained

15-20 leaves fresh sage

Directions

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and saute until translucent. Add the rice and saute until translucent. Add the wine and cook, stirring constantly, until all the liquid is absorbed.

DSCN3910

Add 1 cup of the vegetable broth and stir occasionally until the liquid is absorbed.

DSCN3911

Add the pumpkin puree and the rest of the broth and stir to combine.

DSCN3912

Cover and allow to simmer, stirring occasionally, until almost all the liquid has been absorbed.

DSCN3913

Once there is a little liquid left, add the apples, raisins, beans, and sage leaves. Stir until the remaining liquid is absorbed. Serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN3914

DSCN3918

A lovely fall meal!

DSCN3919

Leave a Reply

