Panko Breaded Tofu

Ok guys, I think it’s actually fall now. The weather is cooling down, the skies are no longer clear 100% of the time, and I even saw some red and orange leaves on the ground outside work the other day! Exciting times.

Anyway, I have a delicious recipe, perfect for fall weather! My mom used to make panko-breaded chicken when I was younger, but since I don’t eat chicken anymore, I decided to switch it out for tofu. Surprisingly, it tasted very similar to the chicken as I remember it. Yay meat substitutions! The panko breadcrumbs have a surprisingly characteristic taste, so I think that’s probably why it tasted so familiar. In this panko crust, I combined crispy panko breadcrumbs with nutritional yeast and garlic for a slightly cheesy flavor. It turned out to be a pretty good combination!

This is a quick and easy recipe to pull together, since the tofu just needs to be heated through, and the panko crust crisps up fairly quickly in the pan. I paired the tofu with some roasted vegetables for a healthy, filling fall meal. Here’s the recipe!

Panko Breaded Tofu

Ingredients

1 14oz block of extra firm tofu

3 cloves garlic, finely minced

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1/3 cup panko breadcrumbs

1 egg

Oil, for the pan

Directions

Drain the tofu and place on paper towels to dry for 15-20 minutes.

In a shallow bowl, toss together the garlic, nutritional yeast, and panko.

In another shallow dish, beat the egg.

Slice the block of tofu into rectangles( I made 12).

Toss the tofu blocks in the egg to coat, then roll in the panko coating.

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Pan fry the tofu for a few minutes on each side, until crispy and golden brown. Place on the plate and serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN4048

Breading ingredients

DSCN4049

DSCN4051

DSCN4052

Crispy and golden and ready to eat!

DSCN4056

Looks (and almost tastes) like chicken!

One thought on “Panko Breaded Tofu

  1. Arielle says:

    I really love your blog, your posts are amazing and everything looks so good! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

