Chocolate Orange Bread

Happy Monday! My posts are probably going to be fewer and farther in between from here on out, since I’m running out of storage space on the blog, and school/work/ultimate has been crazy, but I’ll try to get a post in here and there.

My roommate brought back from home-grown oranges from her house the other weekend, and I got inspired to make some orange-flavored bread. I love orange chocolate, so I decided to modify a bread recipe from My Baking Addiction with my ingredients and preferences. I used orange juice instead of milk, since I wanted to increase the orange flavor, and replaced some of the flour with cocoa powder, since I decided I wanted a chocolate bread instead of bread with chocolate chips. I also tried making a chocolate chip orange bread, which I’ll post later, but the chocolate chips all sank to the bottom so I wanted more evenly distributed chocolate for this recipe.

The result was a moist, dense bread with a sweet chocolate flavor. The use of the zest and juice of the orange really gave the bread a bright orange flavor, which added another dimension to the already delicious bread. I used Dutch processed cocoa powder in this recipe with baking powder, but if you don’t have any, you can use natural cocoa powder and replace the baking powder with baking soda. Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Orange Bread

adapted from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

6 tbsp Dutch-processed cocoa powder

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground ginger

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

zest of one orange

1/2 cup orange juice (all the juice from one orange)

1/2 cup water (or enough to add to the orange juice to make 1 full cup)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat together the sugar, oil, eggs, vanilla, orange zest, orange juice, and water. Add the dry ingredients and fold together until just combined. Do not overmix.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes before flipping out of the pan. Allow to cool completely, slice, and serve. Enjoy!

Print

 

DSCN4497

DSCN4502

Mmmm, deliciously moist chocolate bread with flecks of orange zest!

 

One thought on “Chocolate Orange Bread

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh wow it looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

