Amaretto Bread Pudding

Happy Sunday! It’s the start of my last week as an undergrad here at UCLA, and what a weird feeling that is. Four years have gone by so fast, and I’m sad to be leaving it behind, but excited to be moving on to the next stage of my life. It’s the time of lasts here, last undergrad class, last Phy Sci lab, last midterm, last final… we’re almost there. We had our last family roommate brunch yesterday morning, which is something I’ll definitely miss. I made amaretto French toast yesterday morning as my contribution, which was inspired by this bread pudding I made last week.

I never thought I liked bread pudding. I never really liked French toast either. I always thought it was just soggy, eggy bread. But this recipe is definitely on its way to changing my mind. I love almond flavor, and I had some amaretto liqueur in the cabinet, and got some soft white French bread on clearance, so I decided to do something with it. I used amaretto liqueur, almond extract, and sliced almonds to get maximal almond flavor, and the result was a wonderfully moist, deliciously almond-flavored dessert that could maybe pass for breakfast. Maybe. Anyway, here’s my recipe, very loosely adapted from this one over at Delicious Dishes.

Amaretto Bread Pudding

adapted from Delicious Dishes 

Half a loaf of soft white French bread (mine was 12 small slices)

1 cup fat-free milk (you can use whole milk and omit the butter)

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp almond extract

1/2-3/4 cup granulated sugar, depending on your preferred level of sweetness

1/4 cup amaretto liqueur

1/2 cup sliced honey roasted almonds (from Trader Joe’s)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease an 8×8 pan.

Slice the bread into approximately 1 inch cubes and place in the greased pan. Whisk together the milk, butter, eggs, vanilla, almond extract, sugar, and amaretto. Pour the mixture over the bread cubes and stir to coat evenly. Place in oven and bake for about 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, remove from oven and sprinkle the sliced almonds evenly across the top of the bread pudding. Bake for 20-30 more minutes, for a total of 30-40 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out with a few moist crumbs. You can also bake for longer if you prefer a drier bread pudding, but I like it nice and moist. Remove from oven and serve warm. Top with maple syrup, ice cream, or a simple glaze, or just enjoy plain. Enjoy!

Print

Leave a Reply

