Coffee Cake Cookies

Hello! I’m alive, I know it’s been a while. Our kitchen has been down for the last 6 weeks for remodeling, so I haven’t had an oven for a while. It’s mostly up and running now, and at least we have use of the most important part, the oven! So in celebration, I decided to bake these coffee cake cookies that I’ve been eyeing for quite some time now, from Cookies and Cups. I only had a bit of Crisco left, so I modified the recipe to account for that, and I didn’t use the powdered sugar, since these are already sweet enough. I made cookies about half the size as the recipe calls for, so I reduced the baking time and ended up with a little leftover crumb topping, so I’d recommend reducing the crumb topping by a little bit if you end up making the same size cookies as I did. I know I know, it’s all about the crumb topping, but it was falling off the cookies, and you can only pile so much on.

These cookies are incredible. The cookie part is soft, buttery, almost shortbread-like, but softer and chewier. The crumb topping is delicious, perfectly crispy and sweet. I would definitely make these again, if I ever have a bit of shortening to use up. Or I might just buy some shortening to make these… They’re quite addicting, the perfect mix of crumbly soft cookie with crispy sweet crumb topping. It really is like a little mini crumb cake in cookie form. Here’s the recipe!

Coffee Cake Cookies

adapted from Cookies and Cups

Ingredients

Crumb Topping

10 tbsp butter, softened

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 2/3 cup flour (I recommend reducing to 1 1/3 cup)

Cookies

12 tbsp butter

1/4 cup shortening

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp salt

3 1/3 cup flour

Instruction

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

To make the crumb topping, combine all ingredients in a bowl and cut together with a pastry cutter, fork, or your hands (I prefer using my hands to get nice big crumbs, and the warmth from your hands also helps to soften the butter and pull the mixture together). Refrigerate while making the cookies.

For the cookies, cream together the butter, shortening, and sugars until a smooth paste forms. You can do this by hand or in a stand mixer (I used my mixer). Add the cinnamon, eggs, and vanilla, and beat until well combined. Add the salt and baking powder, and mix to combine. Slowly mix in the flour until all the flour has been well-incorporated.

Scoop balls of cookie dough (about 2 tbsp each, I used an overfilled medium cookie scoop) onto cookie sheets, then use the back of your scoop or spoon to make indentations in each cookie. The indentations should be deep enough to hold about 1 tablespoon of crumb topping. Scoop crumb topping, I did about 1 tbsp each, onto the cookies. Bake for 8 minutes, until the edges are barely turning golden, for softer cookies, or increase the baking time to 9-10 minutes for crispier cookies. I prefer them soft and chewy, so I kept the baking time low. Remove from the oven and allow to cool a couple minutes, then transfer to racks to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN4926

Like little mini coffee cakes!

DSCN4929

Leave a Reply

