Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownies

Hello fall! I guess it’s been officially fall for a few weeks now, but it doesn’t quite feel like it. Still 80˚F outside, typical California. Can’t say I’m complaining! However, to make it feel a little more fall-ish, I decided to break out the pumpkin recipes! I made this delicious pumpkin bread earlier this week, which required 2 cups of canned pumpkin, and it turns out a 15oz can of pumpkin has one and a half cups of pumpkin. So I used a a can and a part of another can, so I had 1 cup of canned pumpkin left. What to do with this? Well, I’ve wanted to make pumpkin brownies for a while, so I decided to develop a recipe to fit the ingredients I had. I used one of my favorite brownie recipes from Something Swanky, and combined it with the pumpkin layer of a pumpkin brownie recipe from Smitten Kitchen. The brownie recipe I pretty much left alone except I left out the chocolate chunks, since there was going to be a whole pumpkin swirl layer to provide a flavor boost. We all have to make some sacrifices, and this one was worth it.

For the pumpkin layer, I got a little more creative. The original recipe would have ended up with 2 eggs in the pumpkin layer, but that seemed excessive to me. Pumpkin is an egg substitute and tends to make things more light and fluffy, and I wanted a dense, fudgy pumpkin layer, to match the fudgy brownie layer. So I decreased to one egg. It also called for granulated sugar, I since brown sugar holds moisture a little better, I decided to substitute that in. I increased the spices, as is my habit, since I really wanted the pumpkin spice flavor to come through. Since I only had 1 cup of pumpkin left, even though the original recipe calls for 1 1/4 cups, I just left it with 1 cup and they turned out fine, and the batter was probably denser and better for it. The bake time actually was shorter than I expected, I took them out at 30 minutes and they were just about perfectly baked. If you prefer gooier brownies and bars, then I’d probably take them out a few minutes earlier. If I were to make these again, I’d probably only bake them for 25-27 minutes, instead of the full 30. But anyway, here’s the recipe, so you can welcome in the fall!

Pumpkin Chocolate Swirl Brownies

adapted from Something Swanky and Smitten Kitchen

Makes 20 brownies

Ingredients

Brownie Batter

½ cup all-purpose flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¼ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

Pumpkin Batter

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 ½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp ginger

¼ tsp cloves

¼ tsp allspice

¼ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

¼ cup (½ stick) unsalted butter, softened

¼ cup vegetable oil

¾ cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup pumpkin puree

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a 9×9 baking pan.

For the brownie batter, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl. In a medium bowl cream together the butter and the sugar until a smooth paste forms. Beat in the egg and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add the dry ingredients and fold together until just combined. Spread the batter in a layer in the prepared pan.

For the pumpkin batter, sift together the flour, spices, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. In a medium bowl cream together the butter, oil, and sugar. Beat in the egg and vanilla until light and fluffy, then beat in the pumpkin puree until well combined. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and fold together until just combined. Spread the pumpkin batter over the brownie batter in the prepared pan.

Using a spatula or knife, swirl together the brownie and pumpkin layer to create a marbled look. The brownie batter is much thicker than the pumpkin batter, so you may have to lift some of the brownie batter up over the pumpkin if you want it truly swirled together. I settled for a little more subtle marbling, with the layers still relatively separated. Bake the bars for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean or with a few moist crumbs. Do not overbake! Allow to cool in the pan for at least 20-30 minutes before cutting and serving. Enjoy!

Print

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

