Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

During spring quarter this last year at UCLA, the hardest quarter of the year, I got a package in the mail. I was a little confused, since I hadn’t ordered anything, but I opened it, and much to my surprise and delight there was a copy of Flour, by Joanne Chang, with a message from my aunt. I immediately started flipping through the book, even though I probably should have been studying for midterms, but looking at all the pictures and bookmarking recipes I wanted to try brought a little light into my day. Living in the dorms, I was unfortunately unable to try any of the recipes right away, but now that I am home for the summer, I decided to give one of the recipes a try!

For my first recipe out of this book, I decided to try the oatmeal raisin cookies. There is a cookie they serve in the UCLA dining halls, called the cowboy cookie, which is basically an oatmeal raisin cookie with butterscotch chips added, and it is the most delicious cookie in the dining halls. I have tried to replicate this recipe previously, with limited success, but I had hope for this recipe. I approximately halved Flour’s recipe for oatmeal raisin cookies, since it made a huge batch, and added butterscotch chips. If you don’t like butterscotch chips, this recipe would still be amazing without them. I am actually not a huge fan of butterscotch chips, since when I’ve used them in previous recipes, they have always been overpoweringly sweet. However, for this recipe, I only added 1/3 cup to the whole batch, and it turned out to be the perfect amount. They’re not a perfect replica of the UCLA cowboy cookies, because they are even better! These cookies stay chewy several days after baking, a huge plus in my book. I am eternally grateful to my aunt for giving me this recipe book, and I can’t wait to try some of the other recipes!

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

Adapted from Flour

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, room temp

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/2+1/3 cup (slightly heaping) flour

1/2+1/3 cup (slightly heaping) rolled oats (old fashioned)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup raisins

1/3 cup butterscotch chips (optional)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚

Cream together butter and sugars in a large bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and raisins. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Add the butterscotch chips if using and stir them evenly into the batter.

Drop tablespoon size balls of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for 10-13 minutes, until golden brown on the edges but still soft in the center. Cool on the baking sheets for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

Print

DSCN6975

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

  1. Good information. Lucky me I ran across your blog by
    accident (stumbleupon). I have bookmarked it for later!

  2. Tamika says:

    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going to
    have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  3. […] reading this blog you must think I like butterscotch. I mean, I’ve posted these Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies, as well as Maple Blondies with Butterscotch Chips. The truth is, I don’t like butterscotch. […]

  4. […] Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies […]

Leave a comment