The Best Zucchini Bread Ever

Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread with Cinnamon and Chocolate Chips

This is the best zucchini bread I’ve ever made. It always turns out extremely moist and delicious. It is also a very forgiving recipe, and I have made many variants of this recipe, with different amounts of zucchini and different proportions of all-purpose to whole wheat flour. For those of you who shy away from vegetables in baked goods, don’t! The zucchini is very finely grated, so you don’t taste it at all, and it doesn’t really affect the texture either, it simply adds moistness. It also is delicious in either loaf form or muffin form. I usually make one 8×4 or 9×5 loaf and about 12-16 muffins with this recipe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The original recipe includes chocolate chips, and half and half mixture of all-purpose and whole wheat flour, and full-fat yogurt, but like I said, this recipe is very forgiving and adaptable. I have used all whole wheat flour and gotten a denser, nuttier, healthier, but only slightly less tasty bread. I have omitted the chocolate chips and still loved the recipe. I have never used full-fat yogurt, only low fat plain yogurt or non fat greek yogurt, and it is moister with the low fat plain yogurt, but both still yield a deliciously moist bread. I have also never really measured the 2 1/2 cups of zucchini exactly, I usually just eyeball it, and I’ve probably made this recipe with anything ranging from 2 to 3 cups of zucchini, depending on the size of the zucchinis we’ve had in the garden and how desperate I am to get rid of them. I have also reduced the sugar to make it more of a breakfast bread, or just enjoyed it with all the sugar and chocolate chips as a dessert. Like I said, this recipe is great not just because it tastes wonderful, but also because it is versatile! With that being said, here’s the original recipe.

Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread with Cinnamon and Chocolate Chips

from Simple Bites

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs, room temperature

1/3 cup canola oil

3/4 cup plain yogurt, low-fat, or Greek yogurt, low or non-fat

1/3 cup buttermilk

1 cup brown sugar, loosely packed

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups grated zucchini

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚. Grease a 9×5 or 8×4 loaf pan and 12-16 muffin tins.

Sift together the flours, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In a large bowl, beat eggs until frothy, beat in yogurt, buttermilk, oil, sugar, and vanilla. Stir in the grated zucchini and chocolate chips. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.

Pour batter into loaf pan until 2/3 full. Spoon the rest into the muffin tins.

Bake the muffins for about 20 minutes, checking until done. Bake loaf for about 45-50 minutes. Let cool before loosening and removing from pans.

Enjoy!

Print

Sorry for the terrible pictures… my camera was having a bad day and the lighting was less than ideal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s great as muffins…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… or bread!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “The Best Zucchini Bread Ever

  1. […] zucchinis right now. What are we supposed to do with all that zucchini? Well, my favorite Zucchini Bread is a great option, but sometimes you just need to branch out. My mom said she likes zucchini cake […]

  2. Judy Reed says:

    These were really good:-)

  3. […] I’ve ever made, and one of the best quick breads I’ve ever made, up there with my favorite Zucchini Bread. This bread doesn’t even have chocolate in it, which is really saying something. I like to […]

Leave a comment