Chicken Mushroom Risotto with Sweet Potatoes and Spinach and a Swim Workout

Guess who finally has a working internet connection! Not a very stable one, but for now it’s working at least. I have some food posts to catch up on! Today was the first day of class for us, but both my discussions today were cancelled so I have one more day of freedom! It’s hard to believe that school is starting already… I expect it’s going to come as a bit of a shock to the system, once the grind of school hits me. Oh well. One day at a time. For now… Let’s get to the food! Here is the post I was planning to do on Tuesday.For my second meal in my new apartment, I made this delicious risotto. I’ve made risotto a few times at home, and as everyone says, yes it’s a lot of work, but it’s worth it. There are also a few shortcuts you can take. You don’t really have to stir constantly. I usually stir fairly regularly when adding the first cup of chicken broth, but after the first portion, I just add the rest of the chicken broth in one cup increments, allowing it to come to a simmer, stirring occasionally. The risotto comes out tasting delicious! This recipe makes a large batch of risotto, and since it’s such a heavy, dense food, the serving portions are relatively small. This means it lasts for a long time, which is great when you don’t have time to cook too often.

Chicken Mushroom Risotto with Sweet Potatoes and Spinach

Makes 10 servings

Ingredients

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 lb chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes

12 oz Arborio rice

2 sweet potatoes, diced

8 oz mushrooms, sliced 1/4 sweet onion

2 tbsp olive oil

12 oz Arborio rice

2 sweet potatoes, diced

8 oz mushrooms, sliced 1/2 cup white wine

4 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

6 oz baby spinach leaves

1 cup Parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

In a large pot, heat the vegetable oil over medium high heat. Saute the garlic until slightly browned, then add the chicken and cook through. Remove from the pot and set aside.

Heat the chicken broth over medium heat to a simmer, then cover the pot and turn the heat to low to keep the broth warm.

Heat the olive oil over medium heat, and add the onions, mushrooms, sweet potatoes, and rice. Toss to coat and heat until the rice is translucent. Add the wine and stir until absorbed. Once the wine is absorbed, pour in 1 cup of the warm broth and bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally. Repeat with 1 cup increments of broth until all the broth has been absorbed into the rice. At the very end, add the spinach and the chicken, and allow the spinach to wilt. Stir in the Parmesan cheese. Serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1329

Dinner is served!

Since I made this on Tuesday, I’m also going to post my swim workout from Tuesday. I only had about an hour, since I had to be home to move a couch into our apartment (yay furniture!) so I did a quick, but very intense, Old School Tuesday. Lots of sprinting.

Old School Tuesday

300 free, 200 non-free, 100 free

4×150 @2:10 increasing number of fast strokes off odd walls, rest moderate, IM order

Main Set:

2 rounds of 4×100, 4×50, 4×25 sprint

1st round free, 100s @2:00, 50s @1:15, 25s @:45

100 easy in between rounds

2nd round IM, 100s @2:15, 50s (IM order) @1:15, 25s (IM order) @:45

300 easy choice

Total: 3000 yards

Time: 1 hr

Leave a comment