Upside Down Peach Cake

Happy Wednesday everyone! I bought peaches to make this cake when I went to the grocery store last Friday, and they were ripe enough to make the cake today! Yay for planning ahead! I was too tired yesterday after a long, rough day at work, to post anything, but I did make a delicious quinoa salad, the recipe for which will be up soon! I would put that up today but this peach cake is just too wonderful to wait. I got this recipe from Food Done Light, and this is the first of what will be many attempts to make (slightly) healthier desserts. I halved the recipe, and put it in a 9 inch round cake pan, and it this cake was definitely one of the most beautiful desserts I’ve make all summer! The pictures don’t do it justice, since unfortunately by the time I got home from work and was able to bake it was dark outside. Story of my life. Anyway, my roommates were huge fans of this cake, and I hope you are too!

I love summer fruits. Nectarines, blueberries, raspberries, plums, apricots, melons, I love them all. However, my favorite summer fruits are definitely peaches, white or yellow. Sweet and succulent, the peaches in this recipe infuse the cake with a sweet fragrance, and the juice keeps the cake nice and moist. They also make it look pretty! This recipe is healthier due to the use of Greek yogurt, light sour cream, and whole wheat pastry flour. The yogurt and sour cream keep the cake moist, so there are only two tablespoons of butter in this whole thing! Also, since there’s fruit in it, is must be healthy right? Right… While I wouldn’t call this cake healthy, it is definitely lighter than alternative recipes, so you can make this cake and eat it too!

Upside Down Peach Cake

from Food Done Light

Ingredients

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 peaches, peeled, pitted, and sliced

2 tbsp butter, softened

1/3 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt, set out for half an hour

½ cup white sugar

1 egg, room temp

¼ cup light sour cream, set out for half an hour

½ tsp vanilla extract

½ cup all-purpose flour

½ cup whole wheat pastry flour

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350˚F and grease a 9 inch round cake pan.

In a small bowl, stir together peach slices, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Spread on the bottom of the pan. I laid mine in a nice spiraling pattern, and it’s definitely worth the time-the pattern is much more attractive than randomly dispersed peaches.

Sift together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Cream together the butter, 1 tbsp of Greek yogurt, and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg, sour cream, remaining yogurt, and vanilla. Beat until combined. Add the dry mixture and stir until just combined.

Spoon the batter over the peaches and spread carefully, trying not to disturb the peaches. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool for ten minutes, then run a knife around the outside of the cake to loosen. Turn the cake upside down onto a plate. Admire your handiwork. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0830

Lay down the peaches in a pattern like this, I promise it’s worth the effort!

DSCN0832

This is the top of the cake! It turned out beautifully 🙂

DSCN0845

I love peaches. Therefore I love this cake.

Shared on Buns in my Oven What’s Cookin’ Wednesday

2 thoughts on “Upside Down Peach Cake

  1. […] 5. Upside Down Peach Cake […]

  2. […] it since she didn’t want to be responsible for messing up. But it turned out great! Same as this upside down peach cake I made last summer. Just make sure you grease the pan thoroughly and you’ll be […]

Leave a comment